Collared Dove

Collared Dove 06-30 014

Collared doves came to the UK from Asia. In the 1950’s there were no recorded sightings but today they are a common garden bird throughout the country.  These doves are not overly shy and will often take food from your hand (as well as seed feeders and bird tables).  This one and it’s mate live near my garden and visit several times a day. When the sunflower seeds run out the doves sit just outside the window willing me to replenish supplies. If they could tap on the glass I’m sure they would!

4 thoughts on “Collared Dove

  1. I’ve taken more of an interest in birds lately. I used to shake my head when people talked about bird watching. I thought it was for old people. Funny the things we appreciate these days:)

    Like

    1. I always liked nature and got to know most of the birds and animals when I was a child so I guess it stuck. I can’t imagine sitting in a hide for hours on end waiting for something rare and beautiful to show up but when the birds visit the garden they’re relaxing to watch, fun when they bring along all the fluffy fledglings and a bit of a challenge to photograph. It’s peaceful too which is probably the biggest thing I crave these days!

      Like

Leave a Reply

