Lumia Ladybird

20140414-084036.jpg

In 1976 we had a very hot summer. I was 7 years old and remember it because there were thousands of ladybirds.

20140414-084019.jpg

The ladybirds used to swarm and if I was outdoors they’d swarm over me! They’re pretty but they bite and you don’t really want them covering you from head to toe.

20140414-084004.jpg

These ladybirds were in the garden, it looks like they over-wintered there and are just awaking from hibernation since the weather warmed up. I didn’t have my camera to hand so improvised with the camera on a Nokia Lumia. The results were better than I expected.

10 thoughts on “Lumia Ladybird

  1. I am in awe of your country and the people like you who live there. It’s stunningly beautiful yet so harsh an environment at times, perhaps more suitable for bears and wolves than us fragile humans. Yet you live there and seem to be at one with the land, the seasons and all that nature has to bring. Meanwhile on small islands like this one people struggle if there’s an inch of snow or a few extra hot days. Somewhere it’s seems we lost our ability to be at one with the land and I think that’s a great shame. I’m looking forward to more photos as spring starts to creep into Newfoundland 🙂

    Like

  2. Yes, the larva do look like alligators! I haven’t seen any yet, maybe a bit early for them but judging by the number of adults there should be a lot of larva later in the year which is good because they’d eat aphids

    Like

  3. I buy ladybird larvae (native not harlequin) through the post if I get aphids in the polytunnel as they devour them voraciously. They are amazing to watch and look like mini armoured dinosaurs 🙂

    Like

  4. I don’t know if you’ve seen “Under the Tuscan Sun”, but this reminds me of a scene where one of the eccentric characters compares chasing happiness to the futile exercise of looking for lady bugs. Once you give up the search and fall asleep in the field, you wake up covered in them. Love that film!

    Like

Leave a Reply

